Skip to content

PhRMA Foundation Awards $2.5M in 2022 Fellowships and Grants

May 18, 2022

The PhRMA Foundation awarded 37 researchers a total of nearly $2.5 million in 2022.

The PhRMA Foundation today announced the recipients of its 2022 funding awards supporting innovative research in the areas of drug delivery, drug discovery, translational medicine, health outcomes research, and value assessment. Out of 315 applicants, the Foundation awarded 36 researchers a total of nearly $2.5 million.

“I am impressed by this year’s award winners and look forward to seeing their research projects come to fruition with the help of our funding,” said Amy M. Miller, PhD, president of the PhRMA Foundation. “The Foundation funds some of the most innovative researchers in these fields, so I know we will see great things from this group of diverse scientists in the future.”

The awards include predoctoral and postdoctoral fellowships, research starter grants, research awards, and challenge grants. Predoctoral fellowships provide $25,000 per year in funding for up to two years. Postdoctoral fellowships provide up to $60,000 per year in funding for up to two years. Research starter grants and research awards provide $100,000 in funding for one year. The challenge grants provide $7,500 to select researchers who answered an essay question posed by the Foundation. Please find the list of awardees on our website and below.

Drug Discovery

Predoctoral Fellowships

  • Joshua Centore, Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine
  • Desnor Nicole Chigumba, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
  • Alexandra D’Amico, University of Texas at Austin
  • Adam Hedger, University of Massachusetts Medical School
  • Dallin Lowder, Baylor College of Medicine
  • Ryan Murphy, University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Postdoctoral Fellowships

  • Feng Gao, PhD, University of Arizona
  • Michael Mohsen, PhD, Yale University

Research Starter Grants

  • Fleur Ferguson, PhD, University of California, San Diego
  • Jill Shirokawa, PhD, University of Cincinnati

Drug Delivery

Predoctoral Fellowships

  • Victor Ejigah, Howard University
  • Christopher Ruben, University of Iowa
  • Nhu Truong, University of Maryland, Baltimore

Postdoctoral Fellowships

  • Blaise Kimmel, PhD, Vanderbilt University

Research Starter Grants

  • Na Li, PhD, University of Connecticut
  • Jianqin Lu, PhD, University of Arizona
  • Eden Tanner, PhD, University of Mississippi

Translational Medicine

Postdoctoral Fellowships

  • Brian Andersen, MD, PhD, Brigham and Women’s Hospital
  • Andy G. S. Daniel, PhD, University of California, San Francisco

Research Starter Grants

  • Ritu Raman, PhD, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Fan Zhang, PhD, University of Colorado, Denver

Health Outcomes Research

Predoctoral Fellowships

  • Xin Hu, Emory University
  • Shangqing Jiang, University of Washington
  • Sara Khor, University of Washington
  • Vanessa Paul Patterson, University of Colorado, Denver

Research Starter Grants

  • Jingchuan Guo, MD, PhD, University of Florida
  • Meng Li, ScM, PhD, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
  • Mollie Wood, PhD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Value Assessment

Research Awards

  • William Padula, PhD, University of Southern California
  • Eline van den Broek-Altenburg, PhD, University of Vermont
  • Zachary Ward, PhD, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

Challenge Grants

  • Geolani W. Dy, MD, Oregon Health and Science University
  • Egbe-Etu Etu, PhD, Tower Foundation of San Jose State University
  • Joseph Mattingly II, PharmD, PhD, University of Maryland, Baltimore
  • Zachary D. Urdang, MD, PhD, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Ashley Valentine, Sick Cells