Skip to content

PhRMA Foundation Awards $1.9M in 2024 Drug Discovery and Delivery Fellowships and Grants   

December 5, 2023

The PhRMA Foundation provided 2024 awards to 24 early-career scientists conducting drug development research.

The PhRMA Foundation awarded 24 early-career researchers a total of more than $1.9 million in 2024 fellowships and grants focused on drug discovery and drug delivery research.

Predoctoral fellowships provide $30,000 a year for up to two years. Postdoctoral fellowships provide $60,000 a year for up to two years. Faculty grants provide $100,000 for one year.

The PhRMA Foundation’s expert review committees selected an outstanding batch of early-career researchers focused on advancing the frontiers of drug development research. These scientists are exploring topics such as engineering new methods for better delivery of drugs in the body and exploring novel targets for potential treatments for conditions including cancer, autoimmune diseases, high blood pressure, and more.

Amy M. Miller, PhD PhRMA Foundation President

2024 Awardees 

Drug Discovery 

Predoctoral Fellowships 

  • Yung Yi Hsiao, MS, University of California, Berkeley
  • Tamanna Islam, MSc, University of Texas at El Paso
  • Min-Yu Ko, Duke University School of Medicine
  • Alexander Lenail, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
  • Anne Londregan, Thomas Jefferson University
  • Carol Morris, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Daichi Shonai, Duke University School of Medicine
  • Xiyin Wang, MS, Mayo Clinic
  • Marek Zorawski, Duke University

Postdoctoral Fellowships 

  • Ali Nili, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
  • Nokomis Ramos-Gonzalez, PhD, Washington University in St. Louis

Faculty Starter Grants

  • Ting Fu, PhD, MPVM, MS, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Ziyang Zhang, PhD, University of California, Berkeley

Drug Delivery 

Predoctoral Fellowships 

  • Madison Davis, University of Texas at Austin
  • Taylor Duval, Cornell University
  • Si-Sim Kang, MS, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Shrey Shah, MS, University of Maryland-College Park

Postdoctoral Fellowships

  • Xiaoshu Pan, PhD, University of Florida
  • Anup Kumar Srivastava, PhD, MSc, Children’s National Medical Center and Children’s Research Institute

Faculty Starter Grants 

  • Chandrabali Bhattacharya, PhD, MSc, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Shijie Cao, PhD, University of Washington
  • Tze Ning Hiew, PhD, University of Iowa
  • Alexandra Piotrowski-Daspit, PhD, University of Michigan
  • Briana Simms, PhD, University of Cincinnati

Apply Now

The PhRMA Foundation is now accepting applications for our 2025 Drug Discovery, Drug Delivery and Translational Medicine fellowships and grants. The deadline to submit a letter of intent is noon ET on May 1, 2024.