Awards in Excellence

The Award in Excellence program now in its 15th year, honors former Foundation grant recipients for outstanding career achievements. Every year, PhRMA Foundation grants Awards in Excellence to past awardees who are dramatic, living proof that the Foundation program works and makes a difference. These awards are given to scientists who received a Foundation grant at the outset of their careers in a discipline important to the research-based pharmaceutical industry when they were deciding on their area of specialization and went on to distinguish themselves through their scientific and/or academic achievements.

  • Terry Blaschke 2011

    Terrence F. Blaschke, M.D.

    • 2014 Award in Excellence in Clinical Pharmacology
    • 1980 Faculty Award in Clinical Pharmacology
    Terry Blaschke is Senior Program Officer, Global Health Discovery and Translational Sciences at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. He is also Professor of Medicine and of Molecular Pharmacology (Emeritus) at Stanford University, Adjunct Professor of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences at UCSF and Adjunct Professor of Medicine at Indiana University. Dr. Blaschke received his medical degree from Columbia University and did his residency training in Internal Medicine at UCLA. Following two years at the NIH and fellowship training in Clinical Pharmacology at the University of California, San Francisco, he joined the faculty at Stanford University in 1974. At Stanford, Dr. Blaschke was Associate Dean for Medical Student Advising, and Associate Director, Stanford General Clinical Research Center.

    Nancy R. Zahniser, Ph.D.

    • 2014 Award in Excellence in Pharmacology/Toxicology
    • 1984 Faculty Award in Pharmacology/Toxicology
    Dr. Zahniser is Professor of Pharmacology, University of Colorado, School of Medicine. She received a B.A. in chemistry from the College of Wooster in 1970 and then taught high school science in India for a year. In 1977 she received a Ph.D. in pharmacology from the University of Pittsburgh, School of Pharmacy. Her graduate research with Dr. Israel Hanin investigated drugs with the potential to increase brain levels of acetylcholine. After post-doctoral training in receptor pharmacology with Dr. Perry Molinoff at the University of Colorado, School of Medicine, and a national search, she joined the faculty there in 1981, where she rose through the academic ranks to Professor within ten years and went on to serve as Vice Chair and Acting Chair from 2003-2006 and SOM Associate Dean for Research Education from 2007-2012.
  • Teruna_Siahaan2-2 (2)

    Teruna J. Siahaan, Ph.D.

    • 2014 Award in Excellence in Pharmaceutics
    • 2000 Undergraduate Research Fellowship
    • 1993 Research Starter Grant in Pharmaceutics
    Dr. Siahaan is a Professor and Associate Chair of the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry, The University of Kansas. Dr. Siahaan was originally from Indonesia; he earned his Ph.D. degree in Organic Chemistry from the University of Arizona in 1986. He did postdoctoral research at UC Santa Barbara in the area of total synthesis of an antibiotic with the cyclic peptide alkaloid structure. He then moved to La Jolla Cancer Research Foundation (currently Burnham Institute, 1987–1989), working on designing cyclic RGD peptides to inhibit cell adhesion during tumor metastasis and thrombosis. Following that, he joined Sterling Winthrop Pharmaceutical Company (1989–1991) to work on developing peptidomimetics to inhibit matrix metalloprotease enzymes for suppressing tumor metastasis and rheumatoid arthritis. In 1991, he joined the Department of Pharmaceutical Chemistry at The University of Kansas as an Assistant Professor and moved up through the ranks to Full Professor in 2002.